Board of Adjustment

The Board of Adjustment meets on a case-by-case basis.  When needed, meetings are held on the second Monday of the month at Helotes City Hall. The meeting begins at 7:00 p.m.



  • To hear and decide appeals when an error is alleged in any order, requirement, decision, or determination made by an administrative official in the enforcement of the zoning and building code.
  • To hear and decide Special Exceptions to the terms of the Code in appropriate cases and subject to appropriate conditions and safeguards. Special Exceptions must be consistent with the general purpose and intent of the Code and in accordance with any applicable rules contained in the Code.
  • To authorize appeal, variances from terms of the Code that will not be contrary to the public interest, when because of special conditions a literal enforcement of the Code will result in unnecessary hardship, so the spirit of the Code will be observed and substantial justice is done.

All application packets must be completed and submitted at least 30 business days prior to the proposed meeting date and will be tentatively scheduled. Application packets submitted after this time will be tentatively scheduled for the next available meeting. It is important to note that items appearing before the Board of Adjustment trigger a public hearing and mail out.

Membership and Appointment

The Board of Adjustment is composed of eight members (three of which are alternates) and appointed by City Council. The City Council will consider the appointment to the Board a person who has demonstrated their civic interest, general knowledge, and availability to prepare for and attend meetings. It is the intent of the City Council that members shall, by reason of diversity of their individual occupations, constitute a commission which is broadly representative of the community.

Board of Adjustment Members

Place 1 – Elizabeth Mendez

Place 2 – Charles Roberts, Vice-Chair

Place 3 – Robert (Bob) Logue, Chair

Place 4 – Todd Compton

Place 5 – Brian McKee


Place 1a – Cody Marshall

Place 2a – Michael Gutierrez